January Week 1

Here we go again!

It’s 2017, and *insert grand mission statement about this year here*

I’m using this blog at the moment to chronicle what I do every week to make my year a good and successful one. I’ve been inspired a lot by Elin Loow’s Fear Year feature on her blog (link is here), and have taken some important lessons home from that. This year, I’m putting myself out there more, and this means, amongst many other things, being accountable for my own shit. If I FINALLY use this blog space to share my journey, that will be a fantastic first step, and one that I’m really hoping to maintain.

Unfortunately, the majority of my week has been taken up with a pretty awful stomach bug. Being ill is quite possibly the most frustrating way to start a year! It really knocked me for six, and meant I just spent most of the first week of January exhausted. Completely and utterly mentally and physically exhausted. I haven’t really encountered being that tired after an illness before, and needless to say, I really don’t want to again.

Being ill did teach me some important lessons though. Do you know who the worst person is for putting pressure on myself? Yep, me. NO-ONE is as hard on themselves as I am. This week, I really had to stand down, and just let myself recover. I am fairly terrible at doing this, but this week, I just had to do it. Being kind to myself is a skill I’m always trying to improve at, and my illness this week helped me to just chill the eff out and enjoy some down time.

I did manage to start one or two things this week. I really fell in love with yoga in 2016, and have spent a lot of my year both in physical classes (which has been such a gamechanger!), and following Yoga With Adriene videos on YouTube. This week, the channel started a new 31 day program. I’m a few days behind due to being ill, but I’m really enjoying it so far and feel like I’m having my abilities pushed. I’m hoping to make it to a proper class next week.

I bought some new craft materials to help kick-start a journey into papercutting. This has always been a craft that’s intrigued me, and I’ve got a book full of some templates to experiment with. This looks like it’ll be my first craft project of the year, and I’m looking forward to trying something new to start the year off with.

I’ve been writing in my new diary (my Ban.Do agenda *heart eyes*) every day, just making notes about what I’ve been doing. This is partly to help my weekly blog posts but also so I can come back at the end of the year, and look at all the cool things I’ve done. I’ve got lots of trips and fun stuff coming up this year, so it’s been really exciting to write all those down and start to make plans.

I hit my reading challenge last year, and so, this year’s challenge has jumped from last year’s 30 books, to 35. I’m pretty confident I can beat this! My first book of this year is one that I’ve been reading since the end of November? The Bees by Laline Paull – I’m not finding it highly inspiring or exciting, but I’m a real stickler for absolutely having to finish a book once I’ve started it. To go alongside this, I’m also reading Pretty Iconic by Sali Hughes, a great Christmas present from my family.

Other things I’ve enjoyed this week:

  • Cooking – I made colcannon for the first time earlier this week, and think it’s well on its way to becoming one of my signature dishes!
  • Starting an art journal – this has been such a fun way to get rid of old craft magazines, as well as making a space to find some creative inspiration.
  • Colouring – I’ve been making my way through the Mollie Makes colouring magazine, in particular, the geometric patterns. I know everyone says it, but it’s honestly so so relaxing, and a great way to take my mind off anything bothering me.

And that’s about it! Next week will be a lot about balancing my first full week of work in a while with creative and social pursuits. See you this time next week.

Leave a Reply

