January Week 3

One practice I’ve seen a lot of the internet do, but have never taken up myself, is designating a word for the year ahead. I felt that I really should prescribe one to this year as a kind of substitute for setting a resolution for myself – with all the best intentions in the world, I am fairly terrible at sticking to resolutions for an entire year, just because I find my priorities end up changing so much over the course of a year.

With all that in mind, I went for strong as my word for the year. This week, I spent a bit of time writing in my journal and musing on what the word meant to me.

  • Being strong both mentally and physically. What this looks like for me is making an effort to keep visiting yoga classes to improve my physical strength, as well as taking active steps to increase my self-confidence and self-worth.
  • Being assertive, and saying no when I want to, not when I feel I have to.
  • Taking on challenges, and trying new things.

This week, I’ve done a lot that falls in line with that last point above. As I’ve said so many times in the last few posts, I’m aiming to do a lot more that frightens me and pushes me. I had quite a big move to a new city in the middle of last year, and it was really great for me in the respect that I HAD to push myself out of my comfort zone. I almost got addicted to doing new things and meeting new people, and all those experiences have been invaluable to me today.

So, what have I done this week to push myself? I spent this morning at a burlesque class where I didn’t know anyone else there, and where I had to “perform” – really scary, but I ended up having a lot of fun. I also had a meeting with some friends to discuss recording a podcast – we’re having so much fun planning what this is going to be, and I’m weirdly excited to be putting myself out there on such a different creative project for me. I’ve also had another meeting to take the first steps to putting on a feminist festival in our city – I’ve offered to do a workshop, and have offered to volunteer to do some helping out with other activities going on. I’ve wanted to be involved with something like this for a long time now, and crucially, I want to be active and contribute rather than falling at the sidelines like old me would have been tempted to do.

Anyone reading this: take this week to go out and do something scary. It will not be nearly as bad as you think it’ll be, and you will absolutely learn something. A phrase that me and my friends have been repeating to each other all week is that every day is a school day – super accurate. See you all next week!

Leave a Reply

