March Week 3

Lately, I’ve been thinking about whether this blog would ever have a “niche”, a little corner of the internet that it would conveniently slide into. All that happened during me thinking about that was all the interests I have in my life. I’ve always been interested in so many little things and different hobbies that I feel like it would be rude not to honour all the varied interests I have to be honest.

With that in mind, these are all the things I’ve been enjoying this week.

  • Playing old games. Last weekend, I picked up a copy of the HD remaster of Final Fantasy X / X-2: two of my favourite games growing up. Re-playing them has provided some crucial time away thinking about serious adult stuff, and oh my goodness, nostalgia!
  • Discovering the Style Your Mind podcast. Podcasts have been the soundtrack of my journey to and from work for a while now, and I discovered the Style Your Mind podcast by complete chance the other day, and it’s really inspired me. The podcast is the brainchild of Cara Alwill Leyba, a life coach, who always manages to speak directly to me and make me think. I plan on picking up some of her books on payday, but I’m finding the podcasts the perfect injection of daily inspiration.
  • Getting closer to the dream. I’ve always struggled with knowing “what to do with my life” – the big question that I know a lot of us have. I feel like I’m genuinely getting a bit closer to figuring it out, and a bit closer to actually having a plan to make it happen. Mentally, it’s been kind of tough on me, as it’s been a process that has been super exciting but also incredibly scary. It’s all something that I know will be long-term for now, but it’s nice to have something to work towards for the future.
  • My local library. I’m very fortunate to work and live in close proximity to a 5 floor library, and have recently been spending more than a bit of time hanging out there, discovering new things. I recently picked up and read the “Unfuck Your Habitat” book, all for free! Never let anyone tell you that a library has no value.
  • Speaking of which…Unfuck Your Habitat. I’d always been aware of the UFYH Tumblr, but I had no idea that the creator, Rachel Hoffman, had written a book. I have found the book to be such a helpful read. Tidying / cleaning / organising can be a major anxiety trigger for me, and the book has really helped me work through a lot of that. To prepare for my upcoming move, which is in 3 months or so, I’ve had enough inspiration to start throwing out and organising my shit – this is a big deal as I never do this before I move, and inevitably, have spent the last 3 (and more!) moves travelling with loads of stuff I don’t want. I would highly recommend this to anyone that really struggles with this kind of thing, as it’s helpful, practical, and not patronising in the slightest. The idea of 20/10s has changed my life recently!

Thanks for reading, and speak soon.

Leave a Reply

